• News 6/12 Some modifications

    Today, my american coworker send me his final version of the instruction guide. This version had been corrected by his technical writing teacher. Most of the issues were about phrase mechanics, punctuation, spelling and grammatical phrasing. The teacher also added some sentences with details that would allow a quicker understanding of the various steps.

    Scott also added the sources of the images and schemas he used for this instruction guide, which is a very good thing in my opinion.

    In short, I had to adjust my translation to these changes, and then translate the new addings.

     

    My main issue during this process was to avoid repetitions of the same word in one single step. For example, in the teacher's added instructions, the word "guide file" (affuteuse) was apparearing three times in one step. In my opinion, this kind of repetition can be a burden to the user, when he's reading the instructions.

     

    Furthermore, I am rather satisfied about my translation when I see the american teacher's comments on the guide. I think I was able to rephrase some sentences so that it would be clearer, or transpose some measures. For example, Scott used the "foot" measures in one part of the document, and his teacher wrote that -for the translator's sake- it would be better not to talk about foot, but about meters.

    However, I already translate this "foot" matter into meters, because leaving it would be useless for a french reader. 

    Somehow, it gives me the impression that I've made the good decision in a translation. As a learning translator, I feel like I've learnt to have the good reflexes, so I liked to think of this project as a way to sharpen my translating capacities.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :